Well, Cleveland has managed to annoy me twice in one month. I know I shouldn't be surprised, but you would think that eventually there would be an end to the stupidity that is the city of Cleveland. Alas there is not.
Annoyance number one - charging people a $100 fine for not recycling. First they decided they were going to take 2.5 million dollars (because Cleveland obviously can't use that anywhere else) and put it into high tech trash cans that monitor your trash habits. Let's forget about the failing schools, the run down houses, the fact that we're laying off cops and firemen. Let's put 2.5 million dollars towards high tech trash cans. That seems like the best use for our money right? Not to mention this is 100% ILLEGAL. If you go on the city of Clevelands Waste Management Website there is a frequently asked questions section. One of the questions is "Is recycling manditory in the City of Cleveland?" And what do you think the answer is? The answer given by the City of Cleveland on its website? "Currently there is NO MANDATE ON RECYCLING...." How can you fine people for doing something that is completely legal? It is 100% legal to put recyclables in the trash in Cleveland. So why does the City of Cleveland think that they can go through your trash and charge you $100 if they find that over 10% of that trash was recyclable? The only thing I can think of is that they are money hungry. Look at all the politicians that they're finding who are misusing government funds (your money and my money). With people in charge like this this city is only going to get worse not better.
Annoyance number 2 - traffic cameras. They are the worst thing to ever be invented in my opinion. First lets look at their claim that they make the road safer. According to the Washington Post crashes resulting in injuries and fatalities went UP 81% after a red light camera was intalled at an intersection. UP not down. Also they are an invasion of our privacy pure and simple. A camera is not a police officer. A camera does not have the right to give me a ticket, end of story. How are they sure that their technology is working 100% all of the time? I know my technology doesn't. Technology fails me quite often actually. Also how do they know it was the owner of the car driving. What happened to innocent until proven guilty? How can they prove without a shadow of a doubt that it was pysically me in that car if all they snapped was a picture of my license plate? The prosecuter is supposed to PROVE the defendant is guilty. I don't see how a camera can do that, even if they get shots of peoples faces they're usually too grainy to tell anything. I would recommend that everyone read the following article because she goes into great detail about exactly why these new redlight and speed cameras are unconstitional :
www.clevelandstatelawreview.org/55/issue4/gshannon.pdf
Not to mention they place them in spots where it is absolutely wrong. They put them at the bottom of steep hills and in spots where theres quick speed changes. How often are you able to maintain a speed of 25 when going down a steep hill? They aren't doing this for safety. They're doing this for money. Once again it comes back to the government in Cleveland being money hungry. If Cleveland wants to know why everyone is running in the opposite direction it's that right there. They want to grab up as much money as possible for themselves and then spend the rest on stupid unimportant crap like high tech trash cans.
I guess we'll all just have to stand back and watch Cleveland burn itself to the ground.
No comments:
Post a Comment