This weekend Timothy taught me how to play Halo. Now I have always liked video games. We had an original Nintendo when I was a kid. We loved playing the original Mario, Duck Hunt, Zelda, etc. Later we also got Super Nintendo, Nintendo 64, Playstation 2, XBox, and Gamecube. The games I always liked had some kind of story behind them like the Zelda games and Dark Cloud. I like working through a whole storyline. Saving a person or trying to accomplish something. When the Wii came out I loved it. We have one and my favorite game on it is Mario Party at the moment. I still need to get and play Twilight Princess though. We also have an XBox and a Playstation 2.
I have never been into the whole first person thing or the gun thing. I much prefer using a sword when playing a game. I decided though that since he plays it so much it would probably be a way for us to spend more time together if I learned how to play. He also decided that it would give him someone to play with whenever he felt like it. In other words: a win-win situation. So he started out by having us just play against each other. He taught me about all the different weapons and vehicles. Now a lot of you parents out there might think that when your kids are playing these games they're just being lazy bums and I'm sure thats true, but these games takes skill. The amount of things you have to be aware of at once is ridiculous. You have to pay attention to your little "nav screen" to see if theres any red dots coming at you. This is the enemy. You have to look around to see if anyones sniping. You have to pay attention to make sure you're not running out of bullets. You have to try to jump out of the way of other people and cars while shooting. It is ridiculous.
We practiced for awhile and then we went on XBox Live. I started out only getting one kill every game but now I'm up to get four to six. This is of course no where near Timothy's skill level but it's a start. I have however learned that there are a lot of annoying people in the Gamer World of XBox Live. From names like "IHAVEWORMS" to "THE GINJA NINJA" I really don't know what people think about. I guess it's the same as when you see people with really annoying email addresses. Then theres the people who have their little headsets on and think it's funny to giggle obnoxiously or burp into the mic. Everyone is trying to enjoy a game and I'm sorry but you're ruining it. I don't know if it's just them being insecure in real life and trying to take it out on people who have no way of ever finding out who they are or what but the game would be a lot more enjoyable if they didnt let you hook up a mic.
It's not the kind of game that I'm going to be playing on my own when I'm bored but it's nice to be know how so that if Tim wants to play or he needs a fourth when he has people over I'm able to. For the most part I think I'll be sticking to the Wii in my alone time gaming.
No comments:
Post a Comment